SP's Military Yearbook

SP's Military Yearbook

SP Guide Publications' first and rather flagship publication, the Military Yearbook was launched in 1965 and rechristened as SP's Military Yearbook in 1992, as a tribute to the Founder Editor Shri S.P. Baranwal who founded the company in 1964.

Today the Yearbook is regarded and termed as Bible of information on the armed forces in the context of entire Asia and the defence industry world over.




Air Marshal Harjit Singh Arora
Air Officer Commanding-in-Chief, South-Western Air Command

Air Marshal Harjit Singh Arora AVSM took over as Air Officer Commanding-in-Chief (AOC-in-C), South Western Air Command at Gandhinagar on October 1, 2018. He succeeds Air Mshl RK Dhir PVSM, AVSM, VSM, ADC who retired on September 30, 2018.

The Air Marshal was commissioned in the Indian Air Force as a fighter pilot in December 1981. He has rich and diverse experience of accident free operational flying which includes MiG 21, MiG 29 and other aircraft in IAF inventory, including helicopters. He is a meritorious graduate of Tactics and Air Combat Development Establishment, Defence Services Staff College and National Defence College. He is also Master of Philosophy in Defence and Strategic Studies.

Air Officer commanded a MiG-21 Bis Sqn in the South Western sector and later was Commander of Air Defence Direction Centre in the same sector. He went on to command a premier MiG-29 Base on the western border and as an Air Vice Marshal he was Air Defence Commander at Headquarters of Western Air Command as well as Eastern Air Command. As an Air Marshal he has held the appointments of Director General (Inspection and Safety) and was Director General Air (Operations) at Air HQ before taking over as the AOC-in-C.

He has also served as Directing Staff at 'Tactics and Air Combat Development Establishment' and as a Flying Inspector in the 'Directorate of Air Staff Inspection'. He was Defence Attache in the Embassy of India, Bangkok, Thailand from 2006 to 2009.

For his distinguished service, he was awarded 'Ati Vishisht Seva Medal' by the President of India on January 26, 2011.

The Air Marshal is married to Mrs Baljeet Kaur Arora. In a simultaneous function Mrs. Baljeet Arora took over as President, Air Force Wives Welfare Association (Regional).