SP's Military Yearbook

SP's Military Yearbook

SP Guide Publications' first and rather flagship publication, the Military Yearbook was launched in 1965 and rechristened as SP's Military Yearbook in 1992, as a tribute to the Founder Editor Shri S.P. Baranwal who founded the company in 1964.

Today the Yearbook is regarded and termed as Bible of information on the armed forces in the context of entire Asia and the defence industry world over.




Air Marshal S.R.K. Nair
Air Officer Commanding-in-Chief, Training Command

An alumnus of the National Defence Academy, Air Marshal S.R.K. Nair was commissioned in the transport stream in June 1980. He is a Qualified Flying Instructor, an Air Force Examiner andhas over 7000 hours of flying.

The Air Marshal has held a number of Command and Staff appointments which include Chief Operations Officer of a Transport Base, Commanding Officer of a strategic Air lift Squadron, Director Operations (Transport) at Air Headquarters, Air Officer Commanding of Air Force Station Chandigarh, Assistant Chief of the Air Staff (Personnel Airmen and Civilians) and Assistant Chief of the Air Staff (Transport & Helicopter) at Air Headquarters. He was Senior Air Staff Officer of Training Command prior to appointment as Air Officer Commanding–in–Chief.

He has taken active part in Op Pawan (Sri Lanka) Op Cactus (Maldives), Op Parakram and Op Safed Sagar (Kargil). He has the distinction of leading the first ever airborne exercise to South Africa (1999), USA (2003) and Russia (2007). During the exercise in USA, he pioneered a grueling flight of the IL-76 to the North Pole, the only Indian aircraft to do so. He also circumnavigated the globe. He played a pivotal role in operationalising Daulat Beg Oldie – the highest airstrip in the world for AN-32 aircraft. He was also instrumental in planning C-130 Super Hercules landing at DBO and was on board the aircraft. The Air Marshal was nominated as the Air Force co-ordinator for the disaster relief operations in Uttarakhand.

During his illustrious career, he has been the recipient of Commendation by AOC-in-C, Chief of the Air Staff and GOC-in-C. He was awarded Mention-in-Dispatches Vayu Sena Medaland Ati Vishisht Seva Medal. The Air Marshal is the Commodore Commandant of 44 Squadron, ‘The Mighty Jets’.