SP's Military Yearbook

SP's Military Yearbook

SP Guide Publications' first and rather flagship publication, the Military Yearbook was launched in 1965 and rechristened as SP's Military Yearbook in 1992, as a tribute to the Founder Editor Shri S.P. Baranwal who founded the company in 1964.

Today the Yearbook is regarded and termed as Bible of information on the armed forces in the context of entire Asia and the defence industry world over.




Vice Admiral Anil Kumar Chawla
Flag Officer Commanding-in-Chief, Southern Naval Command

Vice Admiral Anil Kumar Chawla, AVSM, NM, VSM, has taken over the reins of the Southern Naval Command (SNC) as its 28th Flag Officer Commanding- in-Chief on July 31, 2018. The Admiral has replaced Vice Admiral AR Karve, PVSM, AVSM who retired after 38 years of yeoman service. VAdm A.K. Chawla was previously the Chief of Personnel at the Integrated Headquarters of Ministry of Defence, Navy at Delhi. The Flag Officer, a native of Dehradun, had arrived in Kochi on July 30, 2018.

An alumnus of the National Defence Academy, Vice Admiral Anil Kumar Chawla was commissioned in the Indian Navy on January 1, 1982. A Navigation and Direction specialist, Vice Admiral Anil Kumar Chawla commanded Coast Guard Ship C-01, the Vinash a missile boat, the missile corvette Kora, Stealth frigate Tabar and the aircraft carrier Viraat. His ashore and staff appointments include stints at the prestigious National Defence Academy, Centre for Leadership and Behavioural Studies Naval Attaché Jakarta, Senior Instructor (Navy) and HOTT (Navy) at the Defence Services Staff College and Naval Assistant to CNS.

As a Flag Officer, Vice Admiral A.K. Chawla has held critical staff appointments as the Assistant Chief of the Naval Staff (Foreign Cooperation & Intelligence) and the Assistant Chief of the Naval Staff (Policy and Plans) at Naval Headquarters. He commanded the Western Fleet from August 16, 2013 to October 1, 2014. On promotion to the rank of Vice Admiral he took over as the Director General Naval Operations on December 31, 2014.

He was awarded the Nausena Medal in 2003 while in command of INS Kora during Operation Parakram, Vishisht Seva Medal on January 26, 2013, and Ati Vishisht Seva Medal on January 26, 2015.